Cotton in Conversion

Organic cotton compared to conventional cotton:

62% less energy consumption
46% less impact on global warming
91% less water consumption
Plus, thanks to organic cotton, farmers earn more money and are no longer exposed to toxic pesticides.

That is why we have been using organic cotton for 12 years. Nevertheless, less than 1% of the cotton used in the textile industry is organic. Why is that? The conversion from conventional to organic cotton takes three years. The soil needs this time to recover from the artificial pesticides. During this time, the farmers cannot sell the cotton as organic cotton and do not receive an organic premium. In addition, they have problems finding high-quality, GMO-free seeds - an essential prerequisite. More than 50% of smallholders give up on conversion to organic cotton within the first year because they cannot do it alone.

DON’T ACCEPT THE SYSTEM – CHANGE IT.

BHACHUBHAI   OUR ORGANIC COTTON FARMER,
GUJARAT INDIA

That is why we founded the ARMEDANGELS Organic Farmers Association in April 2018. We are thus helping 366 small farmers in India to switch from conventional cotton to organic cotton. What exactly does that mean? From the first year of the conversion, the farmers receive from us:

  • an ARMEDANGELS organic premium
  • high-quality GMO-free seeds
  • training and technical support from our partner Suminter Organics in India

In January 2019, our Field Officers Pravin and Bhavesh informed us that the first harvest had produced good results. Through WhatsApp we regularly receive pictures of the farmers, fields and meetings in India.

KAKUBEN   WIFE OF BHACHUBHAI,
GUJARAT INDIA

In May 2019, our sustainability managers Julia and Lavinia travelled to India and visited the local farmers. The stories can be found in our highlights on our Instagram account:

www.instagram.com/armedangels

From the field to your wardrobe.

As a rule, farmers sell their organic cotton locally and do not know what will happen to it afterwards. At ARMEDANGELS they even know the final product. The fact that we personally know all the partners involved in the process is unique in the market.

Our entire DetoxDenim collection is of course also made of organic cotton and is GOTS-certified. This means that the raw material is grown sustainably, is free of harmful substances and is regularly tested for safety and environmental compatibility.

Eco Friendly and Fair. We only have one world left.

Cotton in Conversion

Bio-Baumwolle im Vergleich zu konventioneller Baumwolle:

62% weniger Energieverbrauch
46% weniger Einfluss auf die globale Erwärmung
91% weniger Wasserverbrauch
Und Bio-Baumwolle sorgt dafür, dass die Bauern mehr Geld verdienen und keinen giftigen Pestiziden ausgesetzt sind.

Deshalb setzen wir bereits seit 12 Jahren auf Bio-Baumwolle. Trotzdem ist weniger als 1% der verwendeten Baumwolle in der Textil-Industrie bio. Warum das so ist? Die Umstellung von konventioneller zu Bio-Baumwolle dauert drei Jahre. Diese Zeit benötigt der Boden, um sich von den künstlichen Pestiziden zu erholen. In dieser Zeit können die Bauern die Baumwolle nicht als Bio-Baumwolle verkaufen und erhalten keine Bio-Prämie. Zusätzlich haben sie Probleme hochwertiges, gentechnikfreies Saatgut zu finden – eine essentielle Voraussetzung. Mehr als 50% der Kleinbauern geben bei der Umstellung zu Bio-Baumwolle innerhalb des ersten Jahres wieder auf, weil sie es allein nicht schaffen.

DON’T ACCEPT THE SYSTEM – CHANGE IT.

BHACHUBHAI   BAUMWOLL-FARMER,
GUJARAT INDIA

Deshalb haben wir im April 2018 die ARMEDANGELS Organic Farmers Association gegründet. Damit helfen wir 366 Kleinbauern in Indien von konventioneller Baumwolle auf Bio-Baumwolle umzustellen. Was das genau heißt? Vom ersten Jahr der Umstellung an erhalten die Bauern von uns:

  • eine ARMEDANGELS Bio-Prämie
  • hochwertiges GVO-freies Saatgut
  • schulungen und fachliche Unterstützung durch unseren Partner Suminter Organics in Indien

Im Januar 2019 erhielten wir von unseren Field Officers Pravin und Bhavesh die Info, dass die erste Ernte gute Ergebnisse erbrachte. Über WhatsApp erhalten wir regelmäßig Bilder von den Bauern, den Feldern und den Treffen in Indien.

KAKUBEN   EHEFRAU VON BHACHUBAI,
GUJARAT INDIA

Im Mai 2019 sind unsere Nachhaltigkeits-Managerinnen Julia und Lavinia nach Indien gereist und haben die Bauern vor Ort besucht. Die Stories dazu gibt es in unseren Highlights auf unserem Instagram Account:

www.instagram.com/armedangels

From the field to your wardrobe.

In der Regel verkaufen die Bauern ihre Bio-Baumwolle lokal und wissen nicht, was danach mit ihr passiert. Bei ARMEDANGELS kennen sie sogar das finale Produkt. Dass auch wir alle beteiligten Partner im Prozess persönlich kennen, ist einzigartig im Markt.

Auch unsere gesamte DetoxDenim-Kollektion ist natürlich aus Bio-Baumwolle und GOTS-zertifiziert. Das heißt, der Rohstoff wird nachhaltig angebaut, ist frei von Schadstoffen und wird regelmäßig auf Sicherheit und Umweltverträglichkeit geprüft.

Eco Friendly and Fair. We only have one world left.