#armedangelsgrassbox
Using grass as a raw material for paper causes 75% less CO2 emissions than wood.
 

Using grass as a raw material for paper causes 75% less CO2 emissions than wood.

Why we changed a running system.

Why we challenge everything at ARMEDANGELS? Because there’s always potential for improvement. Not only concerning our fashion but its packaging, too. Our shipping boxes, for example, play an essential role for our ecological footprint. That’s why we started looking for alternatives. Sure, there’s recycled paper. But is there an even more sustainable way?
 
Processing grass to
make paper does not
require any chemicals.
For one ton of
pulp you only need
2 liters of water
(compared to 6,000 l
when using wood
as a raw material)
and only 1/10
of the energy.

When your order arrives at your place, the grass for a new grass box has already regrown.

The greenest in packaging.

Our grass paper is made of 40% grass from close by meadows and 60% FSC-certified wood pulp. The advantages of grass as a raw material?

Shortest trip

On average wood-pulp for paper production is transported 4,000 km. The grass for our boxes grows on meadows close to the paper factory in the Swabian Alps. If you combine the reduced energy consumption during processing with the savings during transport, using grass as a raw material for paper causes 75% less CO2 emissions than wood.

Grass needs less

Unlike hard wood, grass hardly contains any lignin – a plant-based glue that helps trees grow tall. This substance needs to be removed with lots of chemicals and water to process wood for paper production in order to get soft wood pulp in the end. This isn’t necessary with grass.

The greenest in packaging

Our grass paper is made of 40% grass from close by meadows and 60% FSC-certified wood pulp. The advantages of grass as a raw material? Swipe right to discover all the advantages of grass paper.

Grass needs less

Unlike hard wood, grass hardly contains any lignin. This substance needs to be removed with lots of chemicals and water to process wood for paper production in order to get soft wood pulp in the end. This isn’t necessary with grass.

Shortest haul

On average wood-pulp for paper production is transported 4,000 km. The grass for our boxes grows on meadows close to the paper factory. The short transport routes save lots of CO2.

No cow is left behind

Don’t worry: No animal will have to go without food for your grass box. Our grass mostly comes from unutilized ecological compensation sites. Those biotopes are mown very late in the year. At this time, the grass has grown so high that it has become woody.

Bees love grass paper

Our grass grows on wild meadows together with flowers and herbs. This biodiversity not only make your grass box smell nice, it also protects our bees.

When your order arrives at your place, the grass for a new grass box has already regrown.

No cow is left behind

Our grass mostly comes from unutilized ecological compensation sites, that are mown very late in the year. At this time, the grass has grown so high that it has become woody. So don’t worry: No animal will have to go without food for your grass box.

Bees love grass paper

Our grass grows on wild meadows together with flowers and herbs. This biodiversity not only makes your grass box smell nice, it also protects our bees.

On the frontline: Fighting for a vision.

The guy behind the idea of grass paper is called Uwe D’Agnone. He has set himself the goal to produce paper in the most sustainable ways imaginable. His vision? To establish grass paper so that the positive effects to the climate can be measured in the future. Count us in!

Once again: Nothing to hide.

As always, we wanted to see the production process with our own eyes and speak with the people behind it. So we travelled to the paper factory in the Swabian Alps. See for yourself how the production works there...
 

The water cycle

 
 
The water used during the production process is almost completely collected and finds its way to the on-site purification plant.
#armedangelsgrassbox

The world‘s most sustainable shipping box.

#armedangelsgrassbox
Gras verursacht als Rohstoff für die Papierherstellung 75% weniger CO2-Emissionen als Holz.
 


Gras verursacht als
Rohstoff für die
Papierherstellung 75% weniger
CO2-Emissionen als Holz.

Why we changed a running system.

Warum wir bei ARMEDANGELS alles in Frage stellen? Weil es immer noch ein Stückchen besser geht. Das gilt nicht nur für unsere Mode, sondern auch für deren Verpackung. Unsere Versandboxen spielen eine wesentliche Rolle für unseren ökologischen Fußabdruck. Also haben wir uns auf die Suche nach Alternativen gemacht. Klar, da gibt es recyceltes Altpapier. Aber geht es auch noch nachhaltiger?
 

Bei der Aufbereitung von
Gras für die Papier-
herstellung ist kein Einsatz
von Chemie nötig. Gras
verbraucht nur 2l Wasser
pro Tonne (im Vergleich
zu 6.000l bei Holz)
und nur 1/10 der Energie.

Bis Deine Bestellung bei Dir ankommt, ist das Gras für eine neue Grasbox schon wieder nachgewachsen.

The greenest in packaging.

Unser Graspapier wird zu 40% aus Gras von nahegelegenen Wiesen hergestellt und zu 60% aus FSC-zertifiziertem Zellstoff. Die Vorteile des Rohstoffs Gras?

Kürzeste Transportwege

Der Holz-Zellstoff für die Papierherstellung wird im Durchschnitt 4.000 km weit transportiert. Das Gras für unsere Boxen wächst auf Wiesen ganz in der Nähe der Papierfabrik auf der Schwäbischen Alb. Kombiniert man den deutlich geringeren Energie-Verbrauch bei der Aufbereitung mit den Einsparungen beim Transport, verursacht Gras 75% weniger CO2-Emissionen als Holz.

Gras braucht weniger

Im Gegensatz zum harten Holz enthält Gras kaum Lignin – einen pflanzlichen Klebstoff, der Bäumen hilft so hoch zu wachsen. Bei der Aufbereitung von Holz muss man diesen Stoff mit viel Chemie und Wasser sehr aufwändig herauslösen, um am Ende weichen Zellstoff zu erhalten. Bei Gras fällt das alles weg.

The greenest in packaging

Unser Graspapier wird zu 40% aus Gras von nahegelegenen Wiesen hergestellt und zu 60% aus FSC-zertifiziertem Zellstoff. Swipe weiter, um alle Vorteile des Graspapiers zu sehen.

Gras braucht weniger

Im Gegensatz zu Holz enthält Gras kaum Lignin. Bei der Aufbereitung von Holz muss man diesen Stoff mit viel Chemie und Wasser herauslösen, um am Ende weichen Zellstoff zu erhalten. Bei Gras fällt das alles weg.

Kürzeste Transportwege

Der Holz-Zellstoff für die Papierherstellung wird im Durchschnitt 4.000 km weit transportiert. Das Gras für unsere Boxen wächst auf Wiesen ganz in der Nähe der Papierfabrik. Das spart durch die kurzen Transportwege jede Menge CO2 ein.

Kein Grund für Futterneid

Keine Angst: Für Deine Grasbox wird kein Tier auf Futter verzichten müssen. Unser Gras kommt von ungenutzten Ausgleichsflächen, die als Biotope erst sehr spät gemäht werden dürfen. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt ist das Gras schon verholzt.

Bienen lieben Graspapier

Unser Gras wächst auf Wildwiesen zusammen mit Blumen und Kräutern. Diese Biodiversität sorgt nicht nur dafür, dass deine Grasboxgut duftet. Sie schützt auch unsere Bienen.

Bis Deine Bestellung bei Dir ankommt, ist das Gras für eine neue Grasbox schon wieder nachgewachsen.

Kein Grund für Futterneid

Unser Gras kommt überwiegend von sonst ungenutzten Ausgleichsflächen, die als Biotope erst sehr spät gemäht werden dürfen. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt ist das Gras schon so hochgewachsen, dass es verholzt ist. Also keine Angst: Für Deine Grasbox wird kein Tier auf Futter verzichten müssen.

Bienen lieben Graspapier

Unser Gras wächst auf Wildwiesen zusammen mit Blumen und Kräutern. Diese Biodiversität sorgt nicht nur dafür, dass Deine Grasbox gut duftet. Sie schützt auch unsere Bienen.

On the frontline: Fighting for a vision.

Der Kopf hinter der Erfindung von Graspapier? Uwe D’Agnone. Er hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, Papier so nachhaltig wie möglich zu produzieren. Seine Vision: Graspapier so weit zu etablieren, dass sich seine positiven Effekte sogar am Klima messen lassen. Klar, dass wir da dabei sind.

Once again: Nothing to hide.

Wie immer wollten wir uns mit eigenen Augen von den Produktionsverfahren überzeugen und mit den Menschen dahinter sprechen. Also sind wir zum Papierhersteller auf die Schwäbische Alb gefahren. Wie die Produktion dort abläuft? Seht selbst…
 

The water cycle

 
 
Das Wasser wird beim Produktionsprozess fast komplett wieder aufgefangen und gelangt von dort in die hauseigene Kläranlage.
#armedangelsgrassbox

The world‘s most sustainable shipping box.