Bleach shocker. A defensive response to poisonous chlorine: allergies.

Nobody in their right mind would volunteer to dip their hands into a vat of chlorine bleach. It’s hard to stomach the harmful results: visible damage like chemical burns and skin irritations.

 
Sounds like an obvious no-no to anyone who cares about their health? Not so: Anyone who wears used-look jeans exposes themselves to these dangers. To lighten the classic denim blue or to add characteristic signs of wear, conventional producers spray their jeans with sodium hypochlorite or sodium chloride. Both are chlorine-based bleaching salts. Conventional bleaching takes up to 2 kg of chemicals per pair. After dyeing the jeans dark blue, they run through several cycles of chlorine bleaching and elaborate rinsing. Besides the sky-high energy and water use involved, this also threatens our health. Since chlorine is especially volatile, it mostly affects the respiratory tract of factory workers who tend to have little protection. Many of them suffer from respiratory issues.

////

If the jeans aren’t rinsed well after bleaching, their fibers will also retain chemical residues, noticeable from the sharp smell. Worn close to the skin, sweat can trigger the skin’s defenses, causing an allergic reaction to the fabric’s toxins.
 

 

“We don’t treat our denim with harmful chemicals.”

#DetoxBleaching

 
All lightening, washes, and finishes rely on state-of-the-art laser and ozone wash technologies. This allows us to use just the right amount of power, while the results are indistinguishable from conventional bleaching techniques. The benefit: 85% reduction in chemicals. And the rest meets the stringent GOTS criteria in terms of health and sustainability standards. Not to mention some other encouraging figures: the laser technique also saves a cool 62% of energy and 67% of water.

////

DetoxDenim means:
0% chlorine. 100% good for the environment. 100% kind to your skin.
 

Laser treatment, not toxic chlorine.
Pure denim on your skin.

Bleach-Schocker.
Eine Abwehrreaktion auf den Giftstoff Chlor: Allergie.

Niemand würde jemals freiwillig auf die Idee kommen, die Hände in einer Wanne mit Chlorbleiche zu baden. Nicht auszumalen, was das anrichtet: sichtbare Schäden wie Verätzungen oder Hautirritationen.

 
Wohl klar, dass man das seiner Gesundheit nicht antut. Aber mitnichten: Wer Jeans im Used-Look trägt, setzt sich genau diesen Gefahren aus. Um das Denim-Blau aufzuhellen oder mit Tragespuren zu versehen, werden Natriumhypochlorit und Natriumchlorit aufgesprüht. Beides Bleichsalze auf Chlorbasis. Bis zu 2 kg Chemie werden beim Bleichen einer konventionellen Jeans verwendet. Denn die Jeans werden zuerst dunkelblau eingefärbt und danach mehrmals mit Chlor wieder heller gebleicht und aufwendig gespült. Neben dem hohen Energie- und Wasserverbrauch, ist das auch ein Problem für die Gesundheit. Da Chlor besonders flüchtig ist, schädigt die Produktion vor allem die Atemwege der Fabrikarbeiter. Diese sind oftmals nur mäßig geschützt. Viele leiden an Atemwegserkrankungen.

////

Werden die Jeans nach dem Bleichen nicht ausreichend gespült, bleiben außerdem Chemierückstände in den Fasern. Das erkennt man an einem beißenden Geruch. Liegt der Stoff eng an und schwitzt man, führt das zu einer Abwehrreaktion der Haut. Sie kann auf den Giftstoff mit einer Allergie reagieren.

 

„Wir setzen beim Treatment von Denim keine schädliche Chemie ein.“

#DetoxBleaching

 
Aufhellen, Waschungen und Finishes werden mit hochmoderner Laser- und Ozonwaschtechnologie erzielt. Die dabei eingesetzte Power lässt sich gezielt kontrollieren und die Effekte sind mit bloßem Auge nicht von konventionellen Bleachings zu unterscheiden. Das Positive: Es werden dabei 85% Chemie eingespart. Und beim Rest achten wir gemäß der GOTS-Kriterien auf Umwelt- und Gesundheitsverträglichkeit. Und noch ein paar schöne Zahlen: Lasern spart 62% Energie und 67% Wasser ein.

////

Bei der DetoxDenim-Produktion gilt:
0% Chlor. 100% gut für unsere Umwelt. 100% gut für Deine Haut.

 

Laser-Treatment statt giftigem Chlor. Reines Denim an Deiner Haut.